What Are You Listening To?

imagesA lot of my day is spent sitting at a desk alone. (Confession: Sometimes when I’m writing fiction I find myself saying the dialog outloud. I’ve also been known to talk to myself on the street – just a sentence or even a word that has something to do with whatever I was thinking. Weird, I know.) Of course, there are other days when I get to go out, interview fascinating people, spend time with friends. (I’m just throwing this in so you don’t think I’m nuts.)
The point is, even when I spend a good part of my day in silence, I like conversation (thus, Brunch Babble, among other things.) Maybe that’s why I’m totally addicted to podcasts. I like to walk most places – I listen to them then. When I can’t sleep, it’s like being told a story. Anyway, I thought I’d share a few of my favorites, but I’m always looking for new ones to get hooked on. Any suggestions? What are you listening to?
PS I get these all on iTunes but tried to give web addresses, too.

Slate Culture Gabfest
Like being at the table wtih a few of your sassiest friends weighing in on music, pop culture, books and anything going on in the zeigest- the cool table in the cafeteria where everyone is laughing and you want to know why.

Fresh Air
Terry gross rules. She interviews everyone you wish you could sit down with and let’s you know about all the people you wish you had heard of. Arts, culutre, politcs, you name it.

Studio 360
Kurt Anderson is just so darn smart. He does great interviews with people from all walks of life, turns you on to people you hadn’t hear of.

The Moth
Live broadcasts of storytellers sharing stories about love, family, real estate, politics, whatever – all without notes. Some funny, some moving, all great.

7 responses to “What Are You Listening To?

  1. Confession: Audiobooks, podcasts, etc., put me to sleep. 😉

  2. As long as you don’t answer yourself–I think you are fine.
    I don’t listen to podcasts; but I do listen to audio books in the car and I like Pandora radio on my laptop.

  3. I talk out loud in public (occasionally) as well. I’m happy to know that I am not the only one.

    I don’t listen to pod casts, but I adore audio books. I have no idea how I ever made long drives without them.

  4. I’ll have to check these out. I admit I don’t listen to podcasts, but I do check out the occasional audio book. Truthfully, i spend so much time talking to myself in my car I don’t have time to listen to anyone else! 🙂

  5. I love Authors on Tour, Live, a podcast from Denver’s wonderful bookstore, The Tattered Cover.

  6. I second the nomination for The Moth podcast. Do yourselves (fellow-commenters) a favor and check it out!

  7. Oops… missed your request for other recommendations. Check out Zencast. Easy to listen to as background and still glean great nuggets from! Available on iTunes. Also: http://amberstar.libsyn.com/

Leave a Reply

