The Silent Brunch???

imagesCould you get through an entire brunch without saying a word to one of your best – and let me say, chattiest – friends?  I’m about to find out.

This weekend, my friend Eve and are going on a yoga retreat.  The place, Kripalu, is pretty bare bones and a bit new-agey (neither of us have ever been) – and the rule is breakfast is SILENT. (We’re already plotting ways to get around various other rules, but actually I could use a low-key, detox kinda weekend.)  Eve and I have been friends for years, though are lives are quite different. She’s married, living with her husband and son in the suburbs.  I’m widowed and live with my daughter in Manhattan. But we talk about everything, and I mean, everything.

Let me explain how we first met: It was actually on another vacation nine years ago.  My husband had just died and I had taken my six year old daughter away – just the two of us – for the first time ever.  Needless to say, I was feeling lonely.  Anyway, I was walking down this path wearing a T-shirt that said “Beauty Rules” when I heard this loud voice call out to me, “Do you work in the business?” It was Eve, who I later learned will talk to almost anyone, God love her.  In fact, I was a magazine editor and the shirt had been a freebie.  Eve worked in publishing too, selling beauty ads.  For the rest of that vacation, she adopted me. I ate with her family, met her friends and was forever grateful.  So, when I told my daughter , who adores Eve, about the silent breakfast rule, she looked at me in total disbelief.  “Eve? Silent through a whole meal????” (I say this with love.)  Hmm.  Well, we do have a long car ride up there.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Wanna place bets on the silent part? And while we’re at it, how did you meet your best friends?

5 responses to “The Silent Brunch???

  1. laurenbrooklyn

    i love how reflective yoga makes me already so i feel like having a silent breakfast after would give me even more time to process all those awesome endorphins and mental clarity. have an awesome time, can’t wait to hear how it is!

  2. I thought of you this weekend, wondering if the silence was broken? Silent meals offer such good food for thought.

  3. I could do a silent breakfast- glower over my yogurt and black coffee …oh wait, no glowering I bet – dang….I wouldn’t have to look PLEASANT on top of all that, would I?

  4. So… how was it? I’ve often wanted to go there, do yoga, and be silent (and into myself). Is it scary?

  5. I could not do a silent anything!

Leave a Reply

