Daily Archives: July 7, 2009

Working It Out…Sorta

ExplorePAHistory-a0l0o1-a_349My friend R. and I have made a pact to get (back in) shape this summer.  It’s not that we’re total slogs but we both have, for various reasons, experienced, well, a bit of slippage.  We’re not talking about getting Kate Moss skinny (not in the realm of possibility) but just back to where we were – both in terms of fitness levels and yeah, weight (okay, it’s only about five pounds but still).  Here’s the thing: we both used to work out – a lot.  It’s always helped my head as much as my body.  And I have written and edited my fair share of stories on the topic.  BUT  the last year has been kind of minimal so, because we are not ready to give up just yet…

In the past week I have done yoga, a body sculpting class, a step class (haven’t done that in 15 years, was getting serious flashbacks) and a ‘core fusion’ class – tiny little moves that absolutely kill.  I have been told never to use more than 3 pound weights but do lots of reps, I have been told that unless you use 5 – 8 pounds you will never see a change.  I have tried to love Pilates (eh) and I have done everything I can to avoid cardio (I know, I know.) R. and I have vowed to keep food diaries and cut out wine.  (Of course, we discussed this last night after class with, yes, rosé and Sancerre.)  I have bought date books and notebooks and made lists and goals (what can I say, I still believe a new notebook is a fresh start for virtually anything in life.) It’s fun to be doing it together.  It helps to have to report in – and screw off with a pal. And I’m welcoming your in-put.  Here’s R’s question from last night: She weighed herself 3 times in a row and got 3 different weights just by moving the scale an inch.  Which should she believe? (I vote for the lowest.)

PS I have exercise ADD so will try lots of new classes/theories/workouts this summer.  What are you loving at the moment?